Track your presentation history
When you save a presentation to a document
workspace, version information is automatically
saved with it, such as the date and time when each
version was saved, who saved each version, and the
size of each version.
Version history is especially useful when you are
responsible for presentations that are being edited
by multiple users. The ability to find out who modified
each version of the presentation makes each team
member accountable and helps give you confidence
in delegating presentation work to others.
Version information is accessible from the View
Version History command on the Server menu. Each
time a presentation is saved, a copy of that version
is saved on the server, and information about that
version is listed on the Versions dialog box. Version
information displayed includes version number, date
modified, who modified it, the size, and comments.
When multiple versions are listed, you can click any
of the versions and then restore that version or even
delete it.
1 Open the presentation whose
revision history you want to
check.
The Microsoft Office PowerPoint
dialog box appears.
2 Click Get Updates.
PowerPoint downloads the most
recent version of the
presentation.
3 Click the Office button.
4 Click Server.
5 Click View Version History
The Versions saved
dialog box appears.
6 Click the version you
want to work with.
* If you want to open
that version, click
Open.
* If you want to replace
the current version of
the presentation with
the selected version,
click Restore.
7 Click Close.
Caution!
Versioning is very useful if your documents are
important and you need the ability to roll back a
presentation to a previous version. However,
because a copy of each version is saved every time
the presentation is saved, it means that each version
takes up more hard disk space on your server. Therefore,
you might want to routinely delete versions that you
no longer need to keep. You can delete unneeded
versions by following Steps 1 to 5 above, and then
clicking Delete.
Caution!
When you delete a presentation, all versions of the
presentation are deleted. Therefore, you should make
sure that you do not need any backup versions of
your presentations before you delete them.




